Things With Pages

5 Recommendations From My Bookshelf

I haven’t been reading too many books lately, but I stop at least five times a day and think about all the books I want to re-read. I don’t know why, but for some reason, the idea of reading new books isn’t as appealing lately as re-reading ones that I know I love. There are great new books coming out, obviously, but ugh, to read Harry Potter and Jane Austen’s novels all over again – it sounds like bliss. I don’t re-read books very often because I feel guilty about not using the time to read books I’ve never read before, but the amount of time I spend pondering old favorites is ridiculous.

Because I don’t have any new reviews for you guys, I figured I could recommend a couple of books to you all instead! I looked through my shelf and found five favorites that I really hope you guys will enjoy. Some of these books are relatively new and some are not as recent, but they’re all amazing and if you’re not sure what to read, why not check one of these out?

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

a darker shade of magic by v.e. schwab

The Shades of Magic series is one I discovered and fell head over heels for in 2015. The book features several different Londons, a beautiful/diverse cast of characters, and lots and lots of magic. It’s a New Adult novel that reads like a Young Adult one, and if you’re into fantasy + V.E. Schwab’s writing, then boy are you in for a treat. The writing is gorgeous and oh so quotable – you can check out my quote video for the first book here – and you’ll fall head over heels for the plot. The characters are what really make this series come to life though. I still have to read the third and final book, A Conjuring of Light, but hopefully I’ll get to it this month for #TheReadingQuest.

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

ruby red by kerstin gier recommendatino 2017

Ruby Red is one of my favorite books in the entire world, and I’ve re-read it so much that it’s not even funny (mostly by audiobook when I’m commuting to uni because otherwise who has the time). It’s about a girl named Gwyneth Shepherd who comes to find out that she – and not her beautiful, perfect cousin Charlotte, as everyone had previously assumed – actually has the time traveler gene in her family. Thrown into a cult-like time traveler’s organization, she’s paired up with Charlotte’s arrogant time traveling partner, Gideon, who’s none too happy about the change. It’s hate-to-love at its finest, and just the journey of finding out the truth behind the organization along with the romance, relationships, and dialogue make the book so memorable and enjoyable. There are also German movie adaptations of all three books and wow are they good.

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

poison study by maria v snyder recommendatino 2017 the lone reader

I read this one on a whim because poison is cool and so was the cover of the novel. And then it became an instant favorite because the slow burn romance in this is mind-blowingly gorgeous and so well done. It’s another hate-to-love, and if you were into the Chaol and Celaena pairing back when he was a decent guy in Throne of Glass, then I guarantee you’ll love this as well. Poison Study is also part of a series, but I’ve never gone past this book simply because I loved the romance between the two main characters in this installment and I’m pretty sure they’re not physically in the same place for a while in the second book. Never say I wasn’t petty.

A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee

the agency a spy in the house recommendation 2017 the lone reader

I’m a sucker for lady detective stories that have an adorable romance, and this book is the definition of that. It’s set in London, my favorite place ever, and it’s set in the regency era, which you can never go wrong with. The mysteries are so much fun, and the love interest is quite the swoony gentleman. The main character, Mary Quinn, is also of chinese descent, so yay for diverse characters way back in 2010! As a child, Mary was sent to the gallows for thieving, but two ladies saved her and welcomed her into the world of the all-female investigative unit, The Agency. I love Mary’s character, I love her circumstances, and I love everything about this book. There are four books in the series, but I only own the first three because they are without a doubt the best.

Silent in the Grave by Deanna Raybourn

silent in the grave by deanna raybourn book gypsies recommendation

I basically recommend this book to everyone in the world, but especially if you’re into romance or historical fiction or again, lady detectives. The main character, Lady Julia Grey, is recently widowed, and is shocked when a Mr. Nicholas Brisbane tells her that her husband was probably murdered. She joins leagues with him to bring about justice for her husband, and the antics that happen along the way are glorious. Also, Brisbane is just a really hot man. Every book in this series is breathtaking, and the mystery is superbly written. It’s a love story and mystery series all in one, and I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a new favorite.

 

 

Follow The Lone Reader on Bloglovin’

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

6 thoughts on “5 Recommendations From My Bookshelf”

  1. OMG I’ve been wanting to start The Shades of Magic trilogy for months now and here I am, over half the year gone, and I still haven’t started it -lol.
    Awesome recommendations btw, now I have some more titles to add to my ever brimming TBR.

    Like

    1. Aaaah you should definitely read the Shades of Magic trilogy! It’s so good and so much fun and you’ll have a blast reading it haha. Also I’m glad to help add to your probably already towering TBR.🙈

      Like

  2. I really want to read some VE Schwab books! They all sound so amazing, especially her Shades of Magic trilogy! Also, you’re so adorable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

