The Big Screen

Wonder Woman, As Told Through Captions

I watched the Wonder Woman movie in theaters on Saturday, and I’m a bit conflicted on how I feel. Obviously I loved it, but at the same time, I feel like it’s possible I didn’t love it as much as everybody else did. Of course I’m going to be buying the steelbook when it comes out, of course it was my most anticipated movie of the year, and of course it was as delightfully feminist as anything I could have hoped for. But at the same time, it didn’t blow me away as much as I had hoped it would.

Now don’t get me wrong, this movie fully deserves all the praise that it’s getting. The characters are amazing, the lines are wonderful, the setting is gorgeous throughout the entire film, and Wonder Woman is the absolute best. Indeed, I fully believe that Wonder Woman’s origin story could not be done any better (keep in mind I’ve never read the comics though). This was for sure 1,000x better than the boring movie that Man of Steel was. Even so, the snob in me expected something a bit more unpredictable and less of a classic – which is impossible because again, this is Wonder Woman’s origin story. It is a well known story, it has been a classic for so long, and it inspires little girls, young ladies, and older women everywhere. So yes, this movie is the best it could be in any universe, and I love it for what it is and what it represents.

I gave this 9/10 stars, but I feel awful about it. The lack of the last star is solely because of how predictable and straightforward the plot was. Which is how it’s supposed to be, I know, so I’m making no sense, but there it is. It’s a 10/10 if based on the source material plus its symbol in the patriarchy, but I rated it as just a movie, taking nothing else – not even the original story or comics – into account. Because my feelings about this movie are too confusing to relay properly, I figured I’d just caption some scenes, because I’ve recently discovered that captioning pictures is really fun.

Note: There may be spoilers, so maybe don’t read these until after you’ve watched the film.


Wonder Woman Chris Pine Steve Trevor First Time Meeting
Diana meets a man for the first time. It’s curiosity at first sight.

Wonder Woman Amazon Warriors Fight Scene
Kickass Amazon warriors defeat fleets of armed men, but not without sacrifices.

Wonder Woman God Killer Scene
Diana about to take the god killer, readying herself to leave the island and defeat Aries.

Wonder Woman Steve Trevor Sleeping Boat
Steve contemplates sleeping next to Diana while a boy in the audience shouts “now kiss.”

Diana steve trevor price god of war scene
Diana Prince deems London an ugly place.

wonder-woman-850x356
Diana Prince looking snazzy as hell and blocking bullets.

Wonder Woman Refuses to Leave Innocents
Wonder Woman refuses to ignore the pleas of the innocent.

Diana Price Steve Trevor Costume Wonder Woman in Woods
Steve mistakenly thinks he can leave Diana in the woods while he walks into danger.

Wonder Woman fight Aries not
A human man dares to point the god killer at Wonder Woman. He is not long for this world.

 

Follow The Lone Reader on Bloglovin’