Things With Pages

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

ACOWAR_USWith A Court of Wings and Ruin being the third and final book in the series – or at least, the final book in the series pertaining to Feyre and Rhys – there are only so many ways to express the fact that this is an astounding conclusion to the story of two beloved characters. If you, for some reason, have never heard of this series or author before, well, my friend, you are missing out.

The way Sarah J. Maas weaves her characters and the intricacies of her plots are something I would die to be able to do myself (if I wrote books, that is) and sure, there are some things I disagree with how she does like the way she puts down one love interest to promote another but ultimately, it’s water under the bridge. Or more accurately, insignificant to all the other amazing things we get from her books. I don’t believe in telling an author what to do with her books – I just like snidely remarking about it with my friends every now and then.

If you’re looking for something a bit more specific regarding why you should read this author:

  • Maas’s world building is amazing.
  • Her female heroines are some of the most kickass, feminist women you ever have seen.
  • The love interests are also the most kickass, feminist of men, and it’s a shame they’re not real.
  • The covers of her books are gorgeous.
  • I named my puppy after a certain character. Hint: Rhys, short for Rhysand. *wiggles eyebrows*

Okay, convinced? Great, go start the series. Everyone else, here’s why you should read the book right this instant instead of staring at it in fear.

There is never a dull moment when you’re reading this book. It’s true that the book is 705 pages, but unlike the last book, I had no trouble zipping through this in under a day. I had to force myself to finish ACOMAF in one sitting, but with this book, I literally couldn’t peel myself away. Even taking bathroom breaks was a pain.

The “war book” in a series often ends up being the most disappointing to me, but that didn’t happen with ACOWAR. While this plot was full of twists and turns and shocks and tears, never for a second did I feel too overwhelmed, or like anything was going above my head. Similarly, I was never bored by war jargon. Throughout the book, the characters remained themselves, kept on bantering and being adorable, and it felt like reading any other book in the series. Except honestly, this might be the best book in the series, because it’s the culmination of everything we’ve been through, and the plot was just so brilliant.

Feyre’s sisters shine so brightly in this novel, and really come into their own. We know in the last book that Nesta and Elain are turned into Fae, but in this book we really see the effect the cauldron had on them. While one is as expected, the other is so different that it is shocking. However, I previously thought of her as a bit of a flat character, so her development and obstacles in this book really helped garner my interest in her. And the other one…oh Cauldron. I’ve always been so intrigued by her, and I really hope we get to know more about her in future books.

There are so many different ships it’s ridiculous – except it’s not. Every couple in this novel is so unique, and I love reading about each and every one of them. There are also some couples that you thought were a sure thing in the last book, but it turns out there’s some more to the story. I think there are also a couple new potential ships, although maybe that’s just me? Maas also did take into account readers’ criticisms about her lack of non-heterosexual characters, so that’s something to look forward to.

If I was forty years older, way too many of those chapters would have given me heart attacks. The twists that kept on coming felt like I was being pulled back and forth between two people – I’m surprised my brain wasn’t aching by the end of it all (although my eyes certainly were from all the tearing up). But I mean, if a finale didn’t make you tear up, is it even a finale?

I’d mention things like the writing and the plot and the pace and the new characters , except we’re all familiar with Maas and her skill in the areas – there’s really no point. I had so much fun laughing and crying with this series, hating on certain characters and loving others. This was such a perfect end to a near-perfect series, and I can’t wait to see what Maas comes up with next in the lands of Prythian. A whole new cast of characters or old ones – I’m up for anything.

Add to goodreads | Purchase on amazon 

